Epson Perfection 1660 PHOTO Windows 10 Driver Issue

Epson Scanner
Epson Scanner

The Fear Of Change

A lot of people are afraid of change and I myself must admit that I have been afraid of upgrading to the latest Microsoft Windows 10 Software. I have a lot of devices and software that if they didn’t work on Windows 10, I knew that it was going to take a lot of time to get things to work. It takes time to ensure all of your hardware and especially software is compatible with Windows 10.

Epson Perfection 1660 PHOTO Scanner

I purchased my Epson Perfection 1660 a very long time ago. I must say that after all of these years it still does a good job. It is slow when trying to scan larger photos but quality takes time.
After I upgraded to Windows 10, it was difficult to find a driver for my scanner that is compatible with Windows 10. It seems that there is always some company out there trying to get rich by putting Spyware or selling something that isn’t real.
I came across one program that utilizes drivers and makes the scanner work. The problem is that the program is about $90 for the Professional Version. I wasn’t ready to pay for something that I already owned, so I kept researching.

Epson Perfection
Epson Perfection 1660 PHOTO TWAIN Driver

I went straight to the Epson website and downloaded an older Windows 7 32-bit version of the TWAIN 5 Driver v5.71A. The driver works just like the original when I purchased it. It turns out that Windows 10 is capable enough to run the older software and still function.

Conclusion

If you have old equipment or software and are afraid of upgrading to Windows 10, try it out. If you would like, I can assist with the test and try to ensure that you can make it work.
Thanks for reading!

Semper Fidelis,

Manuel Perez

Leave a Reply

